Open letter from Javier Bardem about the massacres in Gaza

I have translated this letter written by the Spanish actor Javier Bardem, published today in the Spanish newspaper http://www.eldiario.es
I am not an official translator at all, but I hope this important message comes out correctly (after this translation was made, http://www.eldiario.es has published one here):

original_gaza

As horror is occurring in Gaza there is NO room for equidistance nor neutrality. It is a war of occupation and extermination against a people without means, confined to a minimum of land, without water and where hospitals, ambulances and children are targets and alleged terrorists. Hard to understand and impossible to justify. And the international community’s stance is embarrassing, allowing such genocide to happen.
I do not understand this barbarism, the Jewish people’s horrible history makes it even more cruelly incomprehensible. Only geopolitical alliances, that hypocrite mask of business making- for instance arms trade- explain the shameful position of the USA, the European Union and Spain.
I know that the same people as always will delegitimize my personal right of opinion, because of that I would like to make the following clear to you:
Yes, my son was born in a Jewish hospital because I have dear people around me who are Jewish, and because being Jewish is not the same as supporting this massacre, just as being Hebrew is not the same as being a Zionist, and being a Palestinian does not mean being an Hamas terrorist. That would be as absurd as saying that being German links you to Nazism.
Yes, I work in the U.S., where I have friends and acquaintances who reject such interventions and aggressive policies. “One cannot invoke self defense while at the same time killing children”, one of them said to me on the phone just yesterday. And there are others with whom I discuss openly about our clashing points of view.
Yes, I am a European and I feel ashamed of a community that says it represents me with its silence and non existent shame.
Yes, I live in Spain, paying my taxes, and I do not want my money to finance policies that support this barbarism and arms trade with other countries that are enriching themselves killing innocent children.
Yes, I am outraged, ashamed and hurt because of all the injustice and killing of human beings. Those children are our children. It is horror itself. I hope there will be compassion within the hearts of those who are killing and that the murderous poison that only creates more hatred and violence will disappear. That those Israelis and Palestinians who only dream of peace and coexistence some day will be able to share their solution.
I encourage you to read the following links:

http://www.msf.es/noticia/2014/gaza-israel-debe-dejar-bombardear-civiles-atrapados

http://iniciativadebate.org/2014/07/21/santiago-auseron-juan-perro-radio-futura-el-horror-que-se-disfraza-de-creencia/

23 thoughts on “Open letter from Javier Bardem about the massacres in Gaza

  1. Reblogged this on sudanisms and commented:
    just one of many written and spoken words on why we shouldn’t stay quiet in the face of the continuing onslaught, killing and violating of the Palestinian people, not just those in Gaza.

  2. Pingback: Gaza Under Attack 2014 | Mazliza Othman

  3. First of all I wanna thank Mr Javier for seeing the truth and trying to spread it to the world about what is really going on in Palestine and particularly Gaza and you for the translation of his letter
    Second of all i just want to do a correction to Mr Javier and to the world that Hamas are not terrorists they reached their authorities in a very democratic election, and i would really like all the world to answer me who is the terrorist the occupier of the land or the one whose land is occupied and have all the rights to defend his land and people who lived in persecution for decades from their occupier??

    • I speak to you from Australia with my small opinion, the Israeli USA are the ones committing terrible crimes as acknowledged by world authorities and its good to remind the west that Hammas was elected by the people! Many western hearts are with the Palestinian people and feel ashamed and helpless by what is happening there.

  4. Dear Javier,

    Could you please shed some light on how Spain was systematically killing Jews and taking their possesisions. Or may be you should enlighten us how your ancestors colonized half of the world and wiped out millions upon millions. I guess as a movie actor, you address only timely matters.

    • Dear Gregory, not a smart strategy to compare what is going on today with what has happened 520 years ago. Shame on you for trying to justify a genocide with another one.

  5. I am absolutely shocked to hear of your criticism of Israel. It appears that you are deliberately ignoring the following facts about the conflict.

    1. Hamas is a terrorist organization that is not only committed to Israel’s destruction but also has an anti-Semitic charter.

    2. Hamas is firing rockets into Israeli cities and is using its own population in Gaza as human shields.

    3. It is Hamas, not Israel, who has repeatedly rejected cease-fire proposals.

    4. Israel is making every effort to avoid civilians casualties by calling up homes in Gaza to warn them before bombing them. I don’t recall any other army in the world doing this.

    5. Unfortunately, every conflict has its share of collateral damage. When America went to war in Europe, Iraq, and Afghanistan, you think no civilians were killed? You think civilians are not being killed in America’s drone strikes in Iraq and Afghanistan? Let’s not apply double standards here.

    6. Under the EU’s EUMC guidelines, comparing Israel to the Nazis is one possible sign of anti-Semitism.

    Another thing, have you ever signed such letters for the more than 100,000 people who have been killed in Syria? If not, why this selective humanitarianism?

  6. The Pharoah killed children. Benjamin Netanyahu kills children. Moses of yesterday triumph so will the people of justice triumph. Thank you for the support of justice for Palestinians people and children.

  7. I will tell you something: this post is written by person who hasn’t been in Israel.
    he doesn’t know what cause those things.
    i will recommend him to learn more about the conflict.
    Gaza strip hasn’t been occupied since 2005….but since than they have been firing rockets towards all Israel.

  8. I welcome discussion and clashing points of view, thank you for your comments. I will however not allow personal attacks (such as naming names) on Javier Bardem or anyone else here.

  9. Thank you for posting this translation – you and Javier have good hearts and maybe will inspire the people who need to stop what they are doing to at least think. For the rest of us – it is a ray of hope on a very bleak day for mankind. God bless you both

  10. Thank you Javier for using your voice against this atrocity. Hopefully our voices will be heard soon. It saddens me to know that as I type this another child is probably dying… I am outraged that my government supports this with our US tax dollars (or in any way at all), but many Americans will stand by Israel no matter what they do. We are seeing the extent of that acquiescence now. And you’ve already touched on reasons why there is a lack of governmental response and a devaluation of human life… Just today the US pledged to increase military “aid” to Israel on top of the 3.1 billion a year we already give! I don’t think it will stop if more people don’t speak out. I maintain that we cannot allow ourselves to be silenced in the face of these horrors, lest our own humanity be stripped away. #freegaza #freepalestine

  11. An impressive share! I hae just forwarded this onto a coworker who had ben conducting a litle research on this.
    And he in fact bought me breakfast because I stumbled upon it for him…
    lol. So let me reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!!
    But yeah, thanx for spending the time to discuss this topic here on your internet site.

  12. That is very fascinating, You’re a very professional blogger.
    I have joined your rss feed and look ahead to seeking
    more of your fantastic post. Also, I’ve shared your site in my social networks

Leave a Reply

